

Dawes County Zoning Commission

May 01, 2019 1904 Hrs

Location: Meeting room located on the first floor of the Dawes County Courthouse Meeting called to order by Chairman, Brian Taylor

In Attendance

Roll Call:

Present—Luke Norman, Rosalene Tollman, Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman, Weston Burch (arrived 1955), Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister

Absent: Sam Holmgren (NPN)

Also present: Zoning Administrator, Lindy Coleman, Jeff Lawrence, Don Hunter, Sherry Hunter, Vic Rivera Hoos, Zach Sones, Rod Sones

Approval of Agenda

Chairman Brian Taylor announced that the meeting was regulated by, and in compliance with, the Nebraska Open Meetings Act and pointed out where a copy of the Act was displayed in the meeting room.

Motion to approve the agenda by Tollman second by Schuhmacher

Roll call vote: Ayes—Luke Norman, Rosalene Tollman, Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman, Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister. Nays—None. **Motion Adopted**

Approval of Minutes

Motion to approve the Minutes of the November 7, 2018 meeting by Luke Norman, second by Rosalene Tollman.

Roll call vote: Ayes—Rosalene Tollman, Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman, Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister, Luke Norman. Nays—None. **Motion Adopted**

Correspondence

No correspondence has been received.

New Business

1. Introduction of new board member, Andrew Norman.

2. Election of officers:

Nominations for Chairman: J. Schumacher nominated Casey Schuhmacher, seconded by Brian Taylor.

Dillon Lestmeister nominated Brian Taylor, seconded by Luke Norman. Dillon moved for nominations to cease, seconded by Casey. Roll call vote: Ayes—Luke Norman, Roaslene Tollman, Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman, Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister. Nays—None. Motion passed.

Chairman candidates and votes received: Brian Taylor - 5, Casey Schuhmacher - 2

Nominations for Vice Chairman: Luke Norman nominated Casey Schuhmacher, seconded by Rosalene Tollman. Jerry Schumacher nominated Dillon Lestmeister, seconded by Brian Taylor. Dillon moved to cease nominations, seconded by Rosalene. Roll call vote: Ayes—Rosalene Tollman, Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman, Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister, Luke Norman. Nays—None. Motion passed.

Vice Chairman candidates and votes received: Casey Schuhmacher — 6, Dillon –1

Nominations for Secretary: Rosalene Tollman declined to be nominated.

Dillon nominated Jerry Schumacher, seconded by Casey. Casey moved to close the nominations, seconded by Dillon. Roll call vote: Ayes—Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman, Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister, Luke Norman, Rosalene Tollman.

Jerry agreed to serve as secretary for 2019.

Officers for the 2019 term are: Chairman: Brian Taylor

Vice Chairman: Casey Schuhmacher

Secretary: Jerry Schumacher

3. Conditional Use Permit 2019-03 River Road Campground

Mr. Judd Hoos, Mr. Rod Sones, and Mr. Zach Sones, representing River Road Campground, LLC presented a brief overview of their proposal to establish a 15 unit RV campground on two adjoining small private parcels on the north shore of Box Butte Reservoir. They had previously submitted an incomplete application for a conditional use permit to the Zoning administrator. Since then they have been working with the Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality to develop a site plan for a sewage lagoon and water system.

Secretary Schumacher noted that while he thinks the proposal has merit, the initial application had several missing pieces of information and no site maps to indicate proposed locations. He had noted those omissions on a copy of the original application, which was then forwarded to Mr. Hoos by the Zoning Administrator. Mr. Hoos was referred to the Zoning Regulations (sections 12 and 18) for the required information necessary for the Zoning Commission to recommend approval of the application to the County Board.

Vic Rivera acting as a neighboring private citizen, not in his roll as County Commissioner, asked about the size of the lagoon and expressed concern for flooding since most of the parcel had been under water in recent years.

Jeff Lawrence stated that "everything south of the road is in the floodplain." He also indicated concerns regarding more insects, liability, road maintenance, security, RV abandonment, and traffic increase.

Zoning Commission member Rosalene Tollman asked if the proponents had services of an engineer and indicated that DEQ would not provide one.

Mr. Hoos said that they had submitted a plan to DEQ for review.

Mr. Rivera asked if we were ahead of the process, since there seems to be several areas where the information is incomplete. He also noted further issues of loose dogs and asked how that was going to be addressed, as well as 4 wheelers on the road.

Mr. Sones indicated that dog kennels could be provided for renters with pets to keep them secure.

Mr. Lawrence again expressed concerns about liability and security.

Mr. Hoos indicated that was the reason that they had formed a Limited Liability Corporation (LLC). He stated that they are proposing seasonal contracts for the campground residents and not overnight or weekend campers. He indicated that many of the concerns can be dealt with in the contract stipulations and that the goal was to have the campground closed in "the winter months."

Vic requested that the Zoning Administrator send future information from Mr. Hoos to him and other adjacent landowners.

Secretary Schumacher moved to table the proposal until further information can be obtained by the proponents and forwarded to the Zoning Administrator for review. Second by Weston Burch. Roll call vote: Ayes—Andrew Norman, Weston Burch, Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister, Luke Norman, Rosalene Tollman, Brian Taylor. Nays—None. **Motion adopted.**

4. Zoning Document Review and Decision

Zoning Administrator, Lindy Coleman, suggested tabling the review and decision since one of the items to be included was proposed by the County Highway Superintendent, and he is no longer serving in that position. A new person may wish to take a different approach.

Secretary Schumacher agreed that the review and decision should be postponed but for the reason that instead of continually proposing small amendments, it appears that a new public involvement effort to see what issues Dawes County residents would like addressed would have value. The example of wind energy and the controversy in nearby counties was discussed.

Luke Norman moved to table the review and discussion until a future meeting. Casey Schuhmacher seconded. Roll call vote: Ayes—Weston Burch, Casey Schuhmacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister, Luke Norman, Rosalene Tollman, Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman. Nays—None. **Motion adopted.**

Next Meeting Date

Next meeting date will be determined when the appropriate information regarding the campground conditional use application has been received and a new meeting scheduled and advertised in compliance with the Open Meetings Act.

Adjourn

Motion by Dillon Lestmeister, seconded by Rosalene Tollman to adjourn.

Roll Call Vote: Ayes—Ayes—Casey Schumacher, Jerry Schumacher, Dillon Lestmeister, Luke Norman, Rosalene Tollman, Brian Taylor, Andrew Norman, Weston Burch. Nays—None

Motion Adopted

Meeting adjourned at 2035 hrs.