Skip to main content
County Offices




Primary Election May 14, 2024

The County Clerk is responsible for all elections held in Dawes County. This includes voter registration.

Voter Registration Quick Links

To Verify that you are an eligible voter please click the following link:

You may also register to vote online by following this link:

Marriage Licenses

The Dawes County Clerk is responsible for issuing Marriage Licenses. No Marriage Licenses will be issued after 3:00 P.M. MST due to no State support with their portal after 3:00 P.M. MST.

Applying for a License

In order to apply for a Marriage License you must fill out the Marriage License Worksheet (link above) and turn it in to the County Clerk. Both applicants must be present when turning in the sheet.

Marriage Quick Facts

ID Requirement Photo ID, Social Security Number, Parent’s full names and birthplaces
Residency Requirement you do not have to be a resident of Nebraska
Previous Marriages You need to provide the date your previous marriage ended (Court date or date of death). You may need to wait six months before getting remarried.
Covenant Marriage No
Waiting Period None
Fees $25
Blood Test Not Required
Proxy Marriage No
Cousin Marriage No
Common Law Marriage No
Same Sex Marriage Yes
Under 19 A certified copy of your birth certificate and a notarized consent form must be signed by the person’s legal guardian giving consent to the marriage of the minor. Nebraska will not issue a marriage license if either applicant is under 17 years of age
Officiants Any ordained minister, and all judges, including retired judges, and clerk magistrates. Officiants do not have to reside in Nebraska, and they do not have to register with the state.
Witnesses Two witnesses are required to be present at your marriage ceremony

Filing Fees

Record Instruments $10.00 1st page $6.00 additional pages
Copies $0.25 each
Faxes $1.50 plus copy fees
UCC’s $14.00 flat
UCC Termination No Charge
Copy of Veteran Records Free through VA Office
Certified Copy of Instrument $1.50 plus copy fee
Copy of Marriage License* $9.00
Marriage License $25.00
*Only for Marriage Licenses Issued in Dawes County


Any Instrument presented for recording must have 3 inches at top for recording.

Incorrect fees will cause the instrument to be returned.

Dawes County does not maintain charge accounts for recording purposes.


Below are PDF forms to request certified birth and death certificates as well as marriage license. Please click on the appropriate form and fill out to send to the state.


Phone: (308) 432-0100
Fax: (308) 432-5179


451 Main Street
Chadron, Nebraska 69337


8:30am – 4:30pm

Map of Courthouse 1st Floor.